Giving Thanks…


I know I’m a little late with this post. I really have no excuse except I’ve been under the weather for several days. I hope your Thanksgiving was great. Ours was nice, just the two of us. We cooked and when we were done cooking, we ate. There was no schedule following, no driving, no eating several times, and no pleasing anyone but ourselves.

Last week I went to visit a friend in Ohio. It was much-needed time away. It was nice to spend the weekend with her and her family. I love those boys like they are my own. It was nice to not have to appease anyone but ourselves. Watching movies with the boys and cooking and just relaxing. Thanks Christina.

Little did I know during my trip up there my dad slipped. And not the kind where you slip and fall. It was a drinking slip. Over 120 days sober and a slip. Heartbreaking… Devastating… Shocking…

I could keep going on about how I feel, but I won’t. I know it’s not about me, but I’m not sure how I will face him when he returns home from rehab. I don’t know how I can forgive him. I know it’s a disease and it’s a disease without a cure. When I say it like that, I feel guilty for the way I feel about it/him. I mean if it was any other disease would I still feel this way? NO…I’m torn, confused, hurt… Devastated.

Words of wisodom

