Building us a home and making a famliy


It’s been a while since I’ve posted but we are busy making plans to buy some property and build a house. This process is exciting to me, but the hard part is the search. We have the house plans finalized, that was the easy part. The hard part is finding the right land. Every night after work and Sunday for the past few weeks we have been riding around, addresses in hand looking at property.

There are several factors that are making it hard to find the right property.

1. We know we want to be in a great school district for the re-sale aspect.
2. We’d like to stay in the same county we live in now.
3. I’d like to keep my commute to work under 30-40 mins.
4. We’d also like to stay within a certain price range (this being the kicker)

I’ve heard that building a house can make or break a marriage. HA… I’d say just finding the right property to build on can make or break it.

As of now… I’ve given up on the search. I’m tired… tired of looking and finding what I think is perfect only to physically see it and be 100% disappointed. My attitude towards this entire process is bad and I’m burnt out.

With that being said… I can search all day long for things and ideas I’d like to have in my house (just check out my pintrest board ‘New Home Ideas’). I also have to keep in mind that we may not live there forever and what I like (the rustic vintage look) probably isn’t what anyone else would like as far as re-sale goes.

Recently we found a piece of property but we are waiting to hear back on the specifics of it. I’ve been keeping my fingers crossed. It requires a lot of sitting and waiting. To add to the pressure we are actively trying to get pregnant and have had no success. Our luck we’ll be building while I’m in labor. There’s still hope for both I suppose.

8 thoughts on “Building us a home and making a famliy

  1. Hang in there and try not to get too overwhelmed! I say that like it’s easy, but I totally feel for you. Everything will work out the way it’s supposed to!! I have my fingers crossed for you.

    oh and I haven’t tried to get pregnant yet, but I hear if you quit “trying” it just happens! 😉

  2. Sure there is! (That’s easy for me to say now that I’m on the other end of both.) 😉 We offered on 2 different plots of land before we found ours. To add insult to injury, we never even got counter offers, they just flat told us no. Buyers market, my butt. But I tell you the truth, where we ended up building is way better than the others we’d tried to buy. Things happen how they should. Also – You’ll get pregnant. At probably the most inconvenient time, like in the middle of building your house! But as stressful and tiring as it all may be…. all of it is 100% worth it. Keep your chin up.

Words of wisodom

