Purrfect Solution – Hiding the cat box


We are about to list our house and hopefully that means lots of showings or not (if it sells quick). I have been stressing about what to do with the cats litter box. We had one with a top on it which is great, but I wanted something a little more subtle.

After scouring the interwebs and pintrest, I found the exact look I wanted. I had a base cabinet in storage and thought “WOW the perfect solution sits under me nose!” I discussed it with Andy and he had some ideas for modifying the cabinet. It would need a hole for the cats to enter and a top.

We brought it home from the storage building only to find out two things:

  1.  it was too big for the closet I wanted to put it in
  2.  it was too small for the cats current litter box

Back to the drawing board…

I decided I’d stop by goodwill on the way home from work one day. I thought maybe they’d have something cheap that would work. I went in with little hope of finding something. Low and behold, I found THE PURRFECT Solution haha. (hangs head in shame)

I saw it and thought, “HEY! This might work!”

photo (6)


**Note: advantages to owning a huge car… last-minute thrifting!

Andy helped me unload it and we went right to work on modifying it.

image

After measuring the hole carefully and deciding Chunky Monkey would fit, he decided to make the cut.

image (2)

image (3)


I remember as a kid having one of these toy boxes.


photo (5)


With the lifting lid, I can store their unused litter and scoop inside. They still have enough room to get in and maneuver about without making a mess of the floor.


image (4)
AJ seems to approve!


With a few more trim nails and removal of legos along with cleaning this thing from the inside out, I think it will work out just fine. This is just a quick fix. Once we move into the new house I will probably sand this thing down and give it a fresh coat of paint or stain. I haven’t decided just yet.

Here’s the low down. This project only cost $14. I paid $10 for the toy box and $4 for the new litter pan (their current one wouldn’t fit, it was too wide).


Sad thing is, I went to Target for just the $4 pan and walked away with $100 worth of other stuff.
I hate Target for that very reason. They get me every time!

8 thoughts on “Purrfect Solution – Hiding the cat box

  1. Ha! Target gets me every time too. This is genius. I don’t have a kitty, but if I did, I would totally copy.

    Here’s to not very many showings!!! Good luck!

Words of wisodom

