Adler McKenzie…The birth story


Where oh where do I begin? The days before my due date I was growing increasingly impatient wanting to meet my sweet baby girl. The night I went into labor we had been out running errands and picking up some last-minute stuff.

About 9pm Saturday night I thought my water broke. I had all the signs with the exception of actual contractions. The doctor asked me to come in so they could check me. We packed up our gear and headed to the hospital. When we got there and checked in…after two hours of monitoring I hadn’t dilated enough for them to accept me into labor and delivery. I was showing contractions on the monitor at 3 mins apart but I wasn’t in any pain. They sent me home with an ambien and we left.

At 6am Sunday morning the contractions were still 3 mins apart and the pain was so intense that I couldn’t stand it any longer. We headed back to the hospital. I was so out of it from the ambien that I don’t remember much of the night or the ride back to the hospital. This time, they accepted me and the nurse said “you just earned yourself a birthday”. I cried. I was so relieved. This was it… I was meeting my baby girl soon. The best Easter ever.

Two epidurals, 24 total hours of labor and 45 mins of pushing, Adler McKenzie was born. I was able to spend about 30 mins with her before they hurried me off to surgery. There were minor complications from the birth and the doctor ended up having to do a D&C. Of course with everything going on and all the emotions from meeting Adler, I was scared to death and thinking the worst. You know…overreacting 🙂

All in all everything worked out and we are all thriving. I can tell you it has been a whirlwind of emotions. I cried when we left the hospital with our baby girl. Thinking FINALLY… she’s here.

She was two weeks old this past Sunday and she makes me so happy. Her little quirks and poopy face are the best. I truly feel so lucky to have her and her daddy in my life. Andy has been so perfect with her and me. There are no words that could express the love I have for this little girl or her daddy.

01-KMU_9430

04-KMU_9444

05-KMU_9449

Photos taken by Baby Bella Photography

3 thoughts on “Adler McKenzie…The birth story

  1. Awww she is so precious! I was wondering if you’d share the story. What a perfect Easter bunny 😉 I know you’ve wanted this for so long, and I’m so happy for you! I know what you mean by being so happy that all you can do is cry~ I do that sometimes too!

  2. omg. those wrinkly feet. I just want to kiss them!!

    I would overreact too because…well you know IT IS HAPPENING AND WHY AND HOW AND WHAT WILL HAPPEN AND WILL IT HURT? i am a spaz to say the least, and you don’t know what to expect! But I bet it was ALL worth it! 🙂 Like Whitney said, the perfect little bunny!!

  3. Oh, goodness, I can almost smell her head. So sorry about your surgery, what crummy timing. She is just gorgeous and Im glad she’s here, too! Love you, can’t wait to come visit.

Words of wisodom

